About Alpha Phi

Famous Phis

Marilyn Aboussie
Gamma Omega-Midwestern State
Chief justice, Third Court of Appeals, Texas since 1998, the state's first woman justice (1986). First woman district judge in Tom Green County, Texas (1983-86). Outstanding Democratic Woman Officeholder of 1994. Chair of the State Bar of Texas. First recipient of the Outstanding Jurist Award by the Texas chapter of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers AAML.

Nancy Austin
Beta Delta - UCLA
Management consultant and author of The Assertive Woman

Susie Berning
Delta Delta - Oklahoma City
American professional golfer

Elaine Baxter
Beta Alpha - Illinois
Former Iowa secretary of state and former member of the Iowa House of Representatives

Dr. Joann Boughman
Beta Tau - Indiana
Geneticist. Executive vice president of the American Society of Human Genetics, working with the Human Genome Project. Vice president of the American Board of Medical Genetics. Founding fellow of the American College of Medical Genetics. Advisor to the Maryland Science Center. Served on the secretary's advisory committee on genetic testing, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (1999). Commissioner of higher education for the Sate of Maryland. Named among "Maryland's Top 100 Women"

Becky Cain
Beta Iota - West Virginia
Past president of the League of Women Voters

Liz Carpenter
Omega - Texas
Author, political humorist, former press secretary for Lady Bird Johnson

Edris Rice-Wray Carson, M.D.
Public health doctor, primarily in Central America and Mexico. Birth control pioneer who headed the first large-scale clinical trials of the birth control pill. Founded Mexico's first family planning clinic, located in Mexico City. Medical director of the Puerto Rico Family Planning Association. Recipient of Planned Parenthood Federation of America Margaret Sanger Award

Julie Clark
Gamma Beta-UC/Santa Barbara
Awarding-winning veteran pilot and air show performer. North America's only solo T-34 acrobatic performer. Captain for Northwest Airlines since 1984. Inducted into the International Women's Air and Space Museum.

Georgia Neese Clark Gray
Upsilon - Washburn
First woman Treasurer of the United States, appointed by President Harry Truman. Past president of Alpha Phi International.

Lisa Colagrossi
Beta Iota - West Virginia
Emmy winning television anchor with WABC-TV in New York

Rosemarie DeWitt
Theta Mu - Hofstra
Actress: Standoff, Mad Men

Mildred Dunnock
Zeta - Goucher
Academy Award nominated film and stage actress

Claire Waters Ferguson
Beta Beta - Michigan State
First woman president of the United States Figure Skating Association

Linda Funk
Gamma Sigma-Wisconsin/Stout
Executive director of The Soyfoods Council, working to increase the national awareness of soyfood products.

Kim Kelleher
Vice president and publisher of SELF magazine since 2004. Former vice president, publisher of Golf for Women, under which she became one of the youngest publishers ever in the Conde Nast family.

Ann Martin
Sigma - Washington
Primetime news anchor and co-host of Woman 2 Woman, KCBS-TV, Los Angeles

Margaret McNamara
Lambda - UC Berkeley
Founder of Reading is Fundamental

Maile Misajon
Beta Delta - UCLA
Winner of the U.S. reality television series Popstars

Janet Murguia
Gamma Delta - Kansas
First female president/CEO of National Council of La Raza

Ruth Stafford Peale
Alpha - Syracuse
Religious leader, public speaker and author

Nan C. Robertson
Beta - Northwestern
Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter and feature writer for the New York Times

Julee Rosso
Beta Beta - Michigan State
Founder of The Silver Palate gourmet food shop and Co-author of Silver Palate Cookbook

Jeri Ryan
Beta - Northwestern
Actress: Boston Public, Star Trek: Voyager, Shark

Inga Swenson
Beta - Northwestern
Tony Award nominated actress: The Miracle Worker, Benson

Randi Mayem Singer
Lambda - UC Berkeley
Writer and producer

Barbara Brooks Wallace
Beta Delta - UCLA
Award-winning children's author

Alice Waters
Gamma Beta - UC Santa Barbara
author, chef, founder of Chez Panisse, the original "California Cuisine" restaurant. Alice has received numerous awards including Bon Appetit magazine's Lifetime Achievement Award in 2000 and the James Beard Humanitarian Award in 1997. Alice was named Best Chef in America by the James Beard Foundation, and Cuisine et Vins de France listed her as one of the 10 best chefs in the world in 1986. Created the Chez Panisse Foundation to help underwrite cultural and education programs.

Bishop Catherine Maples Waynick
Epsilon Zeta - Central Michigan
One of only eight women bishops in the U.S. Episcopal Church

Frances Willard
Alpha Lambda - Alumna Initiate
American educator, temperance reformer, and women's suffragist

Kimberly Williams
Beta - Northwestern
Actress: Father of the Bride, According to Jim, We Are Marshall

Beverly Willis
Beta Upsilon - Oregon State
Architect, artist, author, and activist. Co-chair of Rebuild Downtown Our Town R.DOT, an effort to revitalize Lower Manhattan following Sept. 11, 2001. Founder of Architect.org. Director of the Architecture Research Institute, Inc., New York. First female chair of the Federal Construction Council of the National Academy of Science (1973). First woman president of the American Institute of Architects, California Council (1980). Ms. magazine named her one of the top seven women architects in the nation (1976). Member of the 1976 U.S. delegation to Habitat, the United Nations conference on human settlements.

Janice Woods Windle
Omega - Texas
Author of True Women

Andrea Wong
Zeta Phi - MIT
President and Chief Executive Officer of Lifetime Television. Helped launch popular TV reality series The Bachelor, The Bachelorette, The Mole, Who Wants to be a Millionaire, Wife Swap and Extreme Makeover.

Lynn Woolsey
Sigma - Washington
Member of the United States House of Representative